Assignment: Write a flashback connecting what is going on now in your life with the past.

On Sunday, Ian and I took advantage of the beautiful fall day and a break from schoolwork and studying to go pumpkin picking. It’s a tradition we’ve been upholding for the last few years, and Sunday was the perfect day to continue it. We went to the Great Pumpkin Farm in Clarence. It was the most popular farm I’ve ever been to. Kids and parents adorned the huge field. It was impossible to avoid strollers, kids screaming and crying in fear of the haunted attractions, and babies strapped to their parent’s stomachs. All in all, it was madness.

 

 

 


 


As we strolled along the park, seeing kids playing about and parent’s chasing after them, Ian and I grew a little envious. To only be a kid again where all you had to worry about was which cartoons you wanted for your macaroni and cheese and whether or not you could get away with eating dessert before dinner. Now, it’s more like midterms, registering for next semester, and graduate school applications. Definitely not the best of the two options. Seeing the children’s carefree spirits instantly brought me back to my own childhood days.

“Since your Dad and I have to go out, Papa will be watching you guys,” my mother said. “Don’t give him a hard time and do what he tells you to do.” Because it was the weekend, it meant that my cousins visited. And we had a lot of them. My cousin, Marcel lived with us because our house was a three family home at the time; my family on the top floor, Mama and Papa in the middle, and my aunt, uncle and Marcel on the bottom. Marcel has stepsiblings, Cynthia and Little Richie who come every weekend and when they do, we always have the best times. They’re the oldest of the rest of us, so naturally they take charge. Also, my other cousins who lived not too far away, Jonathan, Michael, and Steven, often come to join the festivities.

We were online to get apple cider and fresh pumpkin donuts when Ian and I heard the announcement. “We have a lost boy, age four. He’s wearing a green shirt with black stripes. If you find him please bring him over to the center table.”  I instantly looked around me and grew frantic for the parents. How nauseating and scary it must be to look around only to realize your son is no longer near you. Of course you don’t want to immediately think of the worst- that someone could have kidnapped him- and yet those thoughts creep toward the front of your mind. Fortunately they are quickly replaced by a moment of rationality; he’s a 4-year-old boy. He probably just wandered off in search of the camel or goats. They will find him.

“Papa is babysitting, which means getting away with whatever we want,” my older sister, Tatiana said. Being only six, I was scared to break any rules and felt guilty tricking my grandpa. My older sister and cousins obviously didn’t feel the same way I did. “OK, then you stay here and the rest of us are going to sneak out and ride our bikes to the store to get ice cream.” I was nervous to let them leave but had no power in making them stay. They rode off for the store that was only about a five minute bike ride away. While they were gone I stayed in my room the whole time, and made sure not to draw any attention to myself. I didn’t want to lie to Papa if he asked me where everyone else had went, and I also didn’t want to get the rest of my cousins and my sister in trouble. I was in a pickle.

Of course all good things must come to an end, so Ian and I decided we had as much fun as two college students could at an event designed for kids, but ultimately enjoyed by everyone. We had done enough; fed the animals, walked through the corn maze and the haunted attraction, looked at endangered and nearly extinct species, ate donuts, drank cider, and circled the farm half a dozen times. As we were making the way to his car, I said, “I really hope they found that kid, you think they would announce it if they had.”

By the time they made it back, melting ice cream in hand; Papa never even knew they had left. They were right after all, no one got in trouble and we all got to make ice cream sundaes. ‘I wonder if Papa thinks the ice cream was in the freezer the whole time?’ When they came back we returned to our usual hangout of made up games: jungle people, house, school, and my personal favorite, getting dressed up as a mini-bride- taking pictures and putting on a pretend wedding with me and my cousin, Steven playing the bride and groom. “OK Vero, now face me, and smile,” my cousin Cynthia said. “Tati, go find Steven.” My sister did as she was told and came back with a not so thrilled Steven even though it required dragging him by his shirt. Steven did not enjoy this nearly as much as the rest of us. Poor kid.

“What are you talking about?” Ian said. “The parents were lost, not the kid. Of course the parents came to get him. They said that the kid was at the center, and that that’s where the parents could pick him up.” I thought this over in my head and figured I could have heard it wrong. Since Ian was pretty adamant that that was the case, I was relieved that I had been mistaken and the boy had been reunited with his parents.


 

