When it comes to Christmas it’s important to get something extra special for the extra special people in your life. Mama is obviously on the top of that list, but is so hard to shop for! She really has no need for anything, or so she claims. Also, she’s very frugal, (like me) so she would rather you not even spend your money. But, that’s not going to happen.

This year, I will be in Florida for Christmas. I am so excited. Even though it won’t be a white Christmas, or 80 degrees opposed to 30, (which is nothing to complain about), I can’t wait. Mama’s family will be together, all of her children and grandchildren (with the exception of my cousin Marcel) and it’s going to be a wonderful time. And hopefully even better because I thought of the perfect present for Mama.

Now, being older, I feel a sense of responsibility in ensuring she gets the best, most useful gift. In christmases past, being younger, I gave immature presents like lotions and bath soaps. BORING. This year I hope to accomplish what I did with her birthday present, which was put a huge smile on her face with a bingo cushion and other bingo accessories.

Mama is constantly complaining about her back and butt hurting her. It drives me crazy when she tells me she’s in pain. I freak out. I don’t like to hear it! But, nevertheless I’m glad she tells me because then I can try to solve the problem. This is what I’m trying to do in her christmas present, which will be a massage cushion. A chair is way too expensive, and this way with a cushion, she can use it everywhere from sitting in bed to driving in her car.

I’m so excited to give it to her this Christmas. I hope it helps ease the tension in her bones. And while I am in Florida for the week, I am making her go to the chiropractor!
It’s funny now she’s taken care of me for most of my life, and now that I’m 20 (not that it’s very different from 19,) I feel it’s my turn to take care of her.

Here are some pictures of our last Christmas in Florida in 2008. It was our last Christmas with Papa.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

